family, health, no oil cooking, recipe, vegan

Better Bread


I wrote here about my quest to bake quick, easy bread without using any oil.  Well, after tweaking it bit by bit I think I’ve finally got it down.  This makes a beautiful, all whole wheat, loaf everyone loves.  I’ve passed it around at pot-lucks and family get to-gethers to much praise and many requests for the recipe.  So here it is, for any and all to enjoy:

In case you missed the first post, I use this for the 58 minute, 1.5 pound express bake setting on my bread machine.

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cup warm water

3 tablespoons no-sugar applesauce

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups whole wheat flour

5 teaspoons yeast

Directions:

wash hands (I know you knew that already, but hey, I’m a Mom, I have to say it anyways)

set up bread machine

place ingredients in bread pan in order listed, making a little “pocket” in the flour for the yeast

run bread machine

remove bread and let cool at least 20 minutes before slicing, I recommend a good, serrated bread knife, or you can just rip of chunks

Serve and Enjoy!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Bread, No Oil « conduplicated - July 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

